Laura Dail Literary Agency

News

Happy Pub Day to EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME

A very happy book birthday to Natalia Sylvester, whose second novel, EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME, is on sale today. Congratulations, Natalia!


From the acclaimed author of Chasing the Sun comes a new novel about immigration and the depths to which one Mexican American family will go for forgiveness and redemption.

The first time Isabel meets her father-in-law, Omar, he’s already dead—an apparition appearing uninvited on her wedding day. Her husband, Martin, still unforgiving for having been abandoned by his father years ago, confesses that he never knew the old man had died. So Omar asks Isabel for the impossible: persuade Omar’s family—especially his wife, Elda—to let him redeem himself.

Isabel and Martin settle into married life in a Texas border town, and Omar returns each year on the celebratory Day of the Dead. Every year Isabel listens, but to the aggrieved Martin and Elda, Omar’s spirit remains invisible. Through his visits, Isabel gains insight into not just the truth about his disappearance and her husband’s childhood but also the ways grief can eat away at love. When Martin’s teenage nephew crosses the Mexican border and takes refuge in Isabel and Martin’s home, questions about past and future homes, borders, and belonging arise that may finally lead to forgiveness—and alter all their lives forever.

Praise for EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME:

“Sylvester memorably depicts the precarious existence and difficult choices that face undocumented immigrants to America.” Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Alice Hoffman and Polly Samson will appreciate [Sylvester’s] ability to blend the supernatural with the humdrum, imbuing each character in this droll yet tender novel with wit and warmth.” Booklist

“A beautifully written story that illuminates the complex allegiances of family and the costs of denying the past for the exigencies of the present. With great warmth, humor, and wisdom, Natalia Sylvester brings the border to vivid life in this timeless journey deep inside the human heart.” —Cristina García, author of Here in Berlinand Dreaming in Cuban

Laura Dail